Sell on Time Contract

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

blueprintminis

Reaction score
Have a mare for sale. Someone on the West Coast contacted wanting to know if she could make a down payment, then make equal monthly payments for Feb, March,April, May with final payment and pick up/shipping in June. I've never done this before and can see potential problems if everything is not spelled out in a contract. Anyone done this before? Pros/cons? Potential problems? Recommendations? Do you have a good contract that you could/would email me? Thanks in advance for all responses.

I just sold a weanling colt on payments and it worked great. Have everything spelled out before with a non refundable deposit just in case they change their mind. I kept him until he was payed in full then she came and got him. I would do it again.

You just need to spell out that the payment is due on a specific date each month, if the horse is not picked up by a certain date, X amount will be charged (per day is usually easier than a monthly rate, makes calculations easier, you may choose to wave this at your own discression if the shippers schedule is booked or for other reasons, but it is best to have it in the contract as a safety net) sometimes buyers will drag their feet when it comes to picking up a horse.