Preparing to breed

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rocklone Miniature Horses

past member -I gotta get a life...
Reaction score
This is my first time breeding, so i have been spending the year preparing and learning everything i can. Even took a breeding course. So i am now at the time to start getting ready and i have been keeping my mares weight down while still feeding protein (12%) she will be wormed next week and then its a waiting game. As soon as shes in season its off to the vets for cultures and vaccs then on to the stud. Anything else i need to know/have in advance?

How old is she, has she had foals before, how tall is she, and how tall is the potential daddy? Sounds like you're headed in the right direction!

Ditto to what Diane says and asks - great that you have been doing plenty of research, and hopefully we can help you get your little mare in foal and a new baby on the ground next year!

Good luck - oh and welcome to the Nutty Nursery!
default_yes.gif

She's 14 and has been a brood mare most of her life so plenty of experience. Been empty for about 4 or 5 years now. She's 32" and stallion is the same.

Sounds just perfect, and she's experienced, so we'll know what to look for when you post pictures of her, as maiden mares are quite different looking than experienced brood mares when they carry their little ones!

Very exciting, and we're so glad you joined us here. We're here for any questions you may have, and don't feel like you have to go away -- we're perfectly willing to watch her the entire pregnancy!

Thank you :D its lovely to have others excited for me as my other horsey friends are on the "omg you cant breed a horse when there are so many being given free" band wagon!

I'm interested in cameras but i am not sure what is best, stables are about 175ft away and very very thick walls.