Non registered mini's? Full of questions

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MiniAddict21

Reaction score
[SIZE=14pt]Okay. I have a chance of getting a few mini mares but they aren't registered. I searched this topic in the box thing at the top but it kept telling me there was an error. So I decided to just post. [/SIZE]

I already have a Registered Mini colt (He will be gelded, I don't want to get into breeding). But I got an offer to purchese a few non registered mini mares. So my question is what are the pros and cons of owning non registered mini's? I want to show eventually but are there any shows you can do with non registered minis? Is there any way to register a mini if the parent's weren't registered? I am pretty new to mini's so I am full of questions lol With that being said should I pass on this and look for registered mini's?

I think that's all the questions at the moment but if I think of anymore I will post them
default_smile.png

I would personally continue my search and find registered miniatures. This is because you said you are interested in showing so you would want to show with a registry unless you would just want to do local open all-breed shows which may or may not have anything more to offer miniatures than halter, showmanship and in-hand trail. You can register unregistered Miniatures with WCMHR or ICMHR but I do not recommend them and to me those papers would be best suited as toilet paper because anyone can put anything down on them. 

Plus, if you would ever need to rehome them, there are plenty more buyers in the market for AMHA/AMHR/ASPC miniatures than WCMR/ICMHR/Unregistered. 

Just my two cents! 
default_smile.png