Bloated tummies=not enough food?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

heartofwisdom

Reaction score
Someone here asked for a critique and several people told them the horse needed more food obvious from the bloated stomach. I was really surprised. As a newbie I never realised a bloated tumy was a sign of being under fed.

My guys all have a bit of a tummy. I assumed they were fat. I'll get some current picture to post to get your opinion. I feed one cup of Omilean twice a day and 1 flick of hay a day.

Thanks,

Robin

Yes, bloated tummies can mean a lack of protein in the feed. In other words, if their neck, butt, shoulders, etc are all still narrow and do not have fat pockets but the belly protrudes they likely need more protein in their diet. Think of the starving children commercials on TV, with the skinny children who have bloated bellies. Their abdominal muscles lack the protein to be strong and "hold things in" so they appear bloated, feeding more feed, or a higher protein feed can help. I'll let some more nutrition oriented people answer your question better though. Two cups of feed a day doesn't seem like enough to me though.

And of course we would LOVE to see recent pics of your little ones!

Yes, it can mean not enough groceries.

Just as Malenie says, you want to look at how their butts / hips, necks, shoulders, and chests look to help you evaluate if they are fat, or just bloated.

In my opinion, horses can be bloated from too little food, too little protein, worms, or too coarse quality hay. The amount you are feeding would be perfect for some horses, and too much or too little for other horses! It can be tricky!!!