Attacked by clippers......

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MiniCooper

Reaction score
I am a complete newby to the mini horse world (since last Saurday to be exact!). I have never had to deal with the whole body clipping issue.

I got a really sweet 18 yr old 28" stallion from a lady that couldn't afford her horses anymore.

And I am in LOVE!
default_wub.png

I saw pics of him and went to see him before taking him. He, of course, had a ton of hair.

She delivered him to me....and she SAYS her 10yr old daughter decided to clip his head and neck so he looks better (you can see how pretty his head is now though..). But he looks like he fought with a weed whacker!
default_new_shocked.gif

He has blade marks going down his neck, there are spots where obviously the blades were dull/dirty, his bridle path is WAY too short....I'm sure you get the general idea! He is a mess!! I brought out my clippers a little bit to TRY to make him look better.

And he could care less about the clippers at all, so I know it wasn't him wiggling around that caused the mess.

The old owner says that the owners before her used to show him/drive/parades/leadline etc.

And with his temperment, I believe her.

But....how do I fix him??
default_please.gif

Or how long will it take for his coat to come back and look "normal"??

Thanks in advance!

Wait for it to grow back in some and then clip him your self ..my clips early on are nothing fancy, but when i sit down to do a show clip that is totally different.

*giggles*

First of all, hi there and welcome to the world of minis!
default_saludando.gif
I'm sorry your adorable furry guy was attacked by such a vicious pair of clippers (they're fiercer when they awake from hibernation in the spring, you know) but the good news is I think we can fix him.
default_wink.png