Worm those babies!

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sandee

Reaction score
Sorry, in advance, for the long post. This is not to villify my vet but to inform others.
I posted a month or so back about my filly (then 7 mo) having a bad reaction to bute. Well, hindsite is wonderful! I have had horses over the years and never had big problems but I'm new at minis especially babies. I do all my own barn work and pay very close attention to the horses as far as input, output, attitude, etc. or I would have missed some of the signs and been too late. All that said, I still messed up big time and am hoping by posting that other newbies (not derogatory) will benefit.
I purchased this little girl at 4 1/2 mo. in the fall. The breeders are reliable people and always helpful. They said they had her on daily wormer. I figured ok so it's just a month until my "regular" worming. I'll get her then. I was waiting for that "first freeze"! With the holiday rush, worming slipped by and I am forgetful too. She had a little cough for a few days but that cleared up.
At Christmas, a vet was called to treat her for an eye problem. Vet noticed she was grinding her teeth so gave her .5 mg bute and said give it once a day (I heard 2x a day). She got that dose for 3 days and the vet was called again as she stopped eating and drinking (colic right? -hmmm). By the time the vet saw her and tubed her she hadn't eaten for 9 hours. Besides tubing and a pain shot, the vet guessed at ulcers and started Gastroguard. We were told to walk her and "not feed" until she passed something. We "older" and this was a 7 mo. old filly; after 5 hours we gave up. We were almost dragging her around at this point. She wanted water and food so we gave her a little and prayed for the best. She passed manure overnight.