Do any of you guys use a bread machine

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Marnie

Reaction score
I haven't used one for years, I found a brand new one at a rummage sale for ten bucks a while back so today, decided to try it. I know it's my first try with it and I should give it a couple more times possibly before I judge the machine but this is what I find. For one, it takes 3 hours, it seems like alot of current for one small loaf of bread. The crust all the way around is tough but after chewing my way through it, the bread itself is just ok, nothing to great. I think that the frozen bread that a person makes in the oven is alot better, easier to make and a hundred times better tasting. I'm wondering if others make and like their bread machine, I don't know if its' even worth another try, any idea's out here?

I use one, but for rice bread (I'm gluten intolerant). Rice bread is pretty much only good when toasted, so I have no complaints. I have also made "normal" bread for Kev in it. I find it's the recipe. I've had great, yummy outcomes (or so I'm told) and not so great (like what you described). You just have to tweak with and find good recipes. My sister made a beautiful olive loaf in hers. It looked amazing and was fluffy. So, you can make a nice loaf of bread in them.

I bought one years ago. I don't use it much - like everything else............. It is one of those things that you've got to use and keep trying different recipes. I've been most satisfied with my wheat bread............. I've made a yummy wheat, sour kraut, caraway seed bread a few times... If you eat a lot of bread this could be great but since we try not to eat a lot of bread it doesn't get much use. When I make bread it is usually yeast rolls so I don't use the bread machine much.