Your home business

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

River1018

Reaction score
For those of you that have a home business I'd love to hear what you do..if you are interested in posting it.
default_smile.png

I am doing bookkeeping from my home. Working about 38 hours a week right now. I negotiated to be paid as an employee on their payroll but do all my work from my home office. Previously I have done payroll and bookkeeping from home.

I have a small sewing business that I run from home, we sew cria sized and adult sized coats for alpacas. Similar to dog and horse blankets. It came to life after getting into the alpaca livestock business. I needed cria coats............and mom needed a job! Mom and I worked as a team to come up with our patterns, which took a good year and a half to perfect them. She had the business for a year and a half, did the sewing, I did the website and marketing, and then decided she didn't want to do it anymore.

I had just quit a very stressful time consuming job that I had worked at for over 10 years! I couldn't take the stress anymore, or the hour one way commute after working 12 hour mandatory shifts. I was enjoying my new found freedom when hubby came to me one day, after finding out mom wanted to drop the business, and said he'd like to take it over. At first I told him he was crazy! I had never sewn..........my idea of sewing was with a hot glue gun! And knowing that one of the reasons mom wanted to give it up was because it was so time consuming didn't thrill me either. We figured out a way to do it where it could be less time consuming. He cuts and pins for me, and I do all the paperwork, phone calls, taking orders, ordering supplies, marketing, and sewing. I love it! I get to work from home at something I enjoy doing, and our customers are fabulous!!!