Would you buy a mini with Laminitis ?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I've been searching for a companion mini horse. I have inquired about 2 minis selling as a pair. One has laminitis, about 10 yrs. old. Would you buy a mini with laminitis? I have no experience with this or what all the care would be. Asking for advice. Thank you

Well...you do have a lovely dry lot. If it's purely diet-induced (which realistically in a 10-year-old, it probably is) then you are probably well positioned to keep the horse healthy going forward. I would want to know more though - how long has this been going on, has the horse been chronically laminitic for long enough to cause permanent hoof damage, has the horse been tested for Cushing's, what is being fed. If the horse doesn't have anything else going on and the laminitis was grass-induced or from something acute like a feed room break-in or vaccine reaction then I'd be a lot less worried than if it's been going on for years and not managed. It can be a bit hard to find this stuff out up front though, so you could find yourself in a situation where the horse is so sensitive to sugars that you would have to only feed tested and/or soaked hay to keep them sound.

Maybe. But like Abby P said I'd want to know the cause of the laminitis, and how much damage was done. I would def not buy without a pre-purchase exam that included x-rays to see exactly what was going on with the feet and how much rotation of the bone happened, if any. Plus I'd want a really good, reliable farrier on speed dial!

I don’t know, I would be worried about the 2 new ones already being bonded together and Mint being the third wheel. I would worry about her getting picked on, but that’s just me and the crazy things I worry about 🤪🤪