What would you suggest?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lcwallis

Reaction score
So I have a gelding that was professionally trained and he did well but that was about 7 years ago! I've never driven but am drumming up the courage to try. I've said over the years that I wanted to learn but would chicken out but I'm pretty serious about it now. My gelding is about 35 to 36" and I have no idea what size cart to get.

For learning purposes I know I don't need anything fancy and I don't want to spend alot in case I decide it's not for me. I have a show harness that fits him but what would you suggest for practicing? I've heard of nylon harnesses but don't have a clue if that's a good thing to use for driving around the house....

thanks

Lynda

IMHO-as a new driver myself, I would get the best you can buy and don't scrimp on the comfort for your horse. I was told this and have been able to find pretty good stuff reasonably by buying used.

Get out there... you are going to love it. it's a total blast. I'm sure others will tell you - get with a trainer if you need to... but get out there!!!

Quality carts (and harness) seem to hold their value, so I wouldn't worry too much about resale if you decide driving is not for you.

The most economical choice would be a good quality easy entry -- a used original Frontier (not to be confused with those new, cheap ones now usurping their good name), CTM, G&S Trail Cart, or Alpine. DO NOT even consider the cheap, easily bent Chinese carts sold on ebay.

If you don't mind spending a bit more, the Minicrown or Aerocrown comes highly recommended and, as noted, will get almost full price upon resale. The Pacific Smart Cart would be fantastic for your sized horse, and is arguably the best cart (at least for larger minis) on the market. Spendy, but again, you'd get nearly full price on resale.