What To Wear In Driving classes?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Yankee Doodle Dandy

Reaction score
I show Youth 4H and next year hopefully a couple local AMHR shows. What do I wear for driving classes? Im breaking my horse out, not sure if he is a Country Pleasure prospect, Western, or Pleasure. Ill have to see once he starts driving under cart. So, what do Youth wear for all of those driving classes since Im not sure which one my horse will show in yet? Id like a universal outfit for 4H and AMHR, but I can buy two. Also, can I use an EE (Easy Entry) cart at a AMHR show or would I be laughed at?LOL. Only local, I would definitely not use one at Nationals. Im not that dumb! Thanks ?. Im new to driving so bear with me.

Also, for driving at home, Im probably going to use breeching. My cart has holdback straps ( I think thats what they call them, its those straps that you put on the shafts and hook to the breeching), where do the holdback straps clip to? And how do I put the breeching on? Anybody have a good online videos on harnessing up and hooking up to the cart? Thanks again LOL.

My daughter shows her mare in the Western Country Pleasure classes. She worn a rail shirt and jeans. Nobody changed outfits for the driving classes so one outfit for all day(Halter, Hunters, Driving, etc)

Straight Western is always acceptable. Those things on the shafts are called Footmans Loops. If you don't have them on your cart shafts the breeching probably won't work very well. The straps are called hold back or breeching straps. There is a proper way to attach the breeching straps to the footmans loops and shafts but most of the time its just common sense working with what you have and making it fit.