What color to register him

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Marion

Reaction score
This is my new stallion and I don't what color to register him.

TiggerLwb.jpg

He does have a dorsal stripe down his back.

I'm no colour expert but he looks more dun to me mabe if you clipped him buckskin?

Well...I really don't see any Dun characteristics.....the typical leg & shoulder barring. You say he has a "dorsal"...but I can't see it in the picture. It could just be countershading. Judging from the photo alone....I would lean more toward Silver Buckskin. But....we all know that it's difficult at best, to judge from photos alone! Do you know the "true" colors of his parents? Buckskin & Dun are two completely different genes. Buckskin would have to carry the creme gene, while Dun would carry the Dun gene. Of course, you can also have a combination of Buckskin & Dun (Dunskin).

Knowing the color of the parents would help to make a better "educated" guess as to this horse's true color. Or, you could have it tested to see if it carries the creme gene.
yes.gif

I love color stuff! Makes my head spin, but it's fun just the same.

I thought I had a Silver Buckskin and turns out she's a Silver Dunskin. She does look somewhat different than your colt; her mane and tail are much lighter. But your colt's points sure look diluted.

I've learned that the Dun factors are very subtle under the silver and cream. It was really tough for me to see them, since I'm no Dun expert by any stretch (this is my first, and I didn't even know it). I took some close up pictures of my filly's legs, ears, back, neck and face and Lewella was kind enough to verify her Dun factors.

Yes, I know, I'm no help at all.
biggrin.gif
Some close ups of the areas I mentioned might help the experts. And knowing his parent's colors too.