What color is Dreama?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bleenie

Reaction score
This is one of the girls we recently took in as a rescue. Her mother is black with a few white spots on her rump, no idea what dad was. Her mom & aunt were rescued with her.

So before we got these girls there was another woman looking at them(said she was from a rescue group but it turned out to be a lie an she was only interested in one mare). This woman insisted this mare was a buckskin... To me she doesn't look buckskin at all, but I'm also no color expert... Last horse I had was red & white, lol.

I'd love to know what color she might be considered.

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
To me she looks to be a smutty buckskin. There are different tones and shades of buckskins. They are not all that creamy yellow with a perfect stripe. She is very cute! Her father was most likely a dilute. If her mother is black it doesn't really make sense though for her to be buckskin. She could be brown but I don't think she is, since she has points ( black on legs and ears). Is it possible her mother is dark brown? There are quite a few buckskin breeders on here that could tell you what she really is maybe they will see you post soon
default_smile.png

That is a little helpful. She looks black, with some sun bleaching. If possible can you take a face shot? Some times there are lighter shades of color on the face and it can help distinguish between a dark bay and black horse. She has some winter fuzzies coming in so her color is altered.