What can I do differently?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

onequarterfarm

Reaction score

This is my four yr old 34" gelding. I took him to our third show yesterday and he placed horribly...3 out of 4 in multicolor and 5 out of 5 for miniature 4 and over. The minis that placed above us were markedly heavier, not groomed as nice and some were bigger or smaller...is there anything I need to change weight wise or anything, or was the judge just not fond of his more refined look? He is a gorgeous boy with more white on the other side and a past the shoulder mixed black and white mane...I'm new to this, so learning all I can!

Not sure why he would not have placed better, without seeing the others, but he looks like a very nice boy to me!

Multicolor is truly on the preference of a judge that day, some love dilutes and some hate them, just depends on the judge. As far as halter, he looks like a very nice boy, one thing I would say to do based on this picture is to show him square rather than stretched. He looks like he has nice conformation as far as I can tell by this one pic but overstretching him makes him look longer and weakens his hind end. Otherwise he is a beautiful boy and I would def. take him to more shows. Remember each show that you are just paying for that judges opinion on that day, doesnt mean that is what all the others will think too.

Thanks all:) We are working on the stretching...he over does it on his own:) I am curious about his weight...every show this year we have competed with minis that have way more "groceries" than him. Right now he is being conditioned by his daily ground driving lessons:)