Voice Commands

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kim~Crayonboxminiatures

Reaction score
I'm just beginning to think about restarting my mare driving, going to start doing some ground driving. I was wondering if there are standard voice commands, or if you just make up your own? Like do you say walk, trot, canter or ? Do you say "whoa" for stop, or something else? I generally say, walk, trot, whoa, back (for back-up) and kiss noise to for trot. What about right/left do you use voice commands for turning as well? I've driven horses before, but never competed so don't know anything about what is typical.
default_smile.png

Just got me curious about what others say!

We have a cue for each required gait, which actually came with our "big" horse when we purchased him 16 years ago. They made so much sense to us, we continued to use them for the rest of our horses. I can't stand "random clucking" and kissing for "go forward". I want my horses to know how fast to go, too.

For walk, we use one cluck and the word, "walk".

For trot, we use two clucks and the word that corresponds with the "speed" we want, i.e. "trot" for working trot, "jog" for slow trot (not a true western jog), and "trot up" for a strong trot.

Kiss is for canter.

We also use "come" and "get" for right and left which is beneficial for the tandem. (I have found myself giving my husband directions using "come" and "get", "Come at the next stoplight"
rolleyes.gif
) We also use the term "hard" for sharp, tight turns. (BTW, Gee and Haw are draft terms, not really used in the carriage ring, unless you want to sound like a yahoo.)

"Stand" = don't move a muscle.

"Ho" = stop forward movement, but it is different than "stand".

"Back" for rein back, and "step up" for short movements forward (like in line up).

"Over" for sideways movement.