Training to drive

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MBENES

Reaction score
Right now I am on foal watch, but with bleary eyes looking towards the future, I hope to train Consuelo to drive. I have been told she has had preliminary ground work, but I will start from scratch. I am hoping to find a local instructor to get me started, but that person may not have experience with minis, so, my first question is what basic equipment do I need to start off. I have a long line. What else do I need, and where is the best place to purchase. Thank you in advance!

I can't help you with getting her driving, I do self taught long lining with all my big horses and it's really simple but wouldn't be comfortable trying to tell you like this. I think the best thing to do would be to find someone near you who will let you learn with their trained horse, big or small, first. If one of you has an idea about what you're doing it makes it much easier.
How's foal watch going other than long and tired?

If the ZIP code in your location is correct, then we do have Andy Marcoux pretty local to us:

www.coachmansdelight.com

I haven't seen him in person (yet!) but have downloaded some of his articles and lessons and he has a good reputation. He gives lessons at his place and travels for clinics - not sure if he has lesson horses though or if you have to truck your own horse in. He also takes horses for training.

You're welcome to come visit me although I am completely flying by the seat of my pants. My horse is trained but I am not, I had a few lessons and that's it (lots of other horse experience but not driving). I'd love to visit with another driving enthusiast - I don't know anyone else local. My horse lives in Rehoboth, MA.