Trailering A Big Horse Who has Never Trailered

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kootenay

Reaction score
Hi everyone.

I'm trying to sell my big horse, and the main market is about 7 or 800 km's from me, so now I have the issue with trailering a big horse (quarterhorse), who has from my knowledge never been in a trailer. The trailer looks similar to this one: Two Horse Slant Load .

I will be removing the divider since it is about an 8 hour trip, but my question is do I tie her or not?

Thanks in advance
default_saludando.gif

Tie. Always tie, especially a mature big horse. One reason is they use the halter/lead to brace against the sway of the trailer. Why are you taking the divider out? I would leave the divider in as they can also brace against that as well. It's important that they feel secure on their feet.

I'm a total trailer novice. Thank you for the advice, and now the question is-- Do I load her up into the front stall or the stall closest to the back? I assume the front stall, but I could be wrong?
default_unsure.png

EDIT: I'm stressed out/crying cause my not so wonderful hubby just called from work and proceeded to tell me that this horse has to be out of here by Sunday or "else". I'm about to go of the flipping deep end.

Last edited by a moderator:
Not everyone ties and there are pros and cons to both . Personally I do not want the horse trying to balance with his halter/lead that puts a lot of stress on their necks that they do not need.

If she is the only horse in the trailer I would load her in the front half

Again there is no right or wrong you have to do what you feel comfortable with. I would leave the divider in most adult horses will not lay down in a moving trailer and 8 hours is really not that long of a trip. The divider can actually help them keep their footing.