tips on showing a stallion

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cara

Reaction score
heyy

I have been showing for around 5 or 6 years now, and in a few weeks i will be starting to show a stallion, who needs some work on his maners, im working on that, but i havent really watched the stallion classes too much, and i was hoping i could get some pointers? i know how to set up ect, any info would be helpful! thanks

ps i have been showing a mare and sometimes a gelding

Ive shown several yearling colts, a few sr stallions and a few jr stallions. I showed a two year old stallion this past weekend who has been out with mares all year basically, he let everyone at the show in the barn know that he is THE stallion, even a stallion with good manners can have one of those DOH moment at the first sniff of a mare.

My boys know i mean business, if they attempt to get out of hand i give a firm yank on the lead which is just enough to bring them back to reality and go "hey...what did i do?" and bring that attention back to me.

Practice, practice, practice. If you are having trouble with him now, he will be worse at a show. I personally would not take him to a show until he learns to respect you on home turf. My biggest pet peeve at shows is people that cannot control their stallions (or any horse).

Make sure he is doing everything you ask of him, use lots of praise. You can always try putting a little vicks vapor rub on his nose to distract him of the other horses smells.

ya i have heard about puting vicks on there nose, his things it biting tho
Biting is not allowed!!!
default_nono.gif
Everyone has their own way of dealing with this and not everybody agrees, but you have got to stop that bad habit right now! I guarantee you if he will bite you at home he will do worse at a show.