Thinking of retiring from driving

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shorthorsemom

Reaction score
I havent had my driving boy out at all this year and its almost June. I was doing great and taking lessons all last year and we were progressing and it was totally fun, however for multiple reasons, I just am thinking of selling off all my stuff and just having my driving mini be a pasture pet instead. I cant seem to find enough time to drive frequently and my boy isn't the type to be steady if he isn't driven enough and I am not experienced enough to handle him should we get in trouble out on a drive.

One of my biggest problems (or excuse) for not driving lately is my neighbors. We live on a farm but have one close neighbor. These folks are gun enthusiasts to the extreme. They shoot all the time and on weekends they shoot for hours and hours on end. Sometimes we listen to the shooting for 5-6 hours. They also purchase those exploding things from Cabelas and when shot into they go off like M80s or louder. They shoot off gun powder and it sounds like the finale for 4th of July. All legal in Pa. They have handguns, automatic rifles, machine guns and semi automatics and they live to shoot. This shooting is new this year. never had a problem before this year.

My driving boy is not steady enough in harness and I am terrified we would wreck if I were driving when one of the explosions go off. they rattle the windows in my house.

So between the ignorant neighbors and my semi retirement anyway I am thinking about hanging up driving for now.