Team driving questions

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Knottymare

Reaction score
I would eventually like to get set up to drive a team. Dolly is doing so well and is so steady that I'd like to get her a buddy that she can drive with.

I am new to driving and have tackled the hitching and driving singly - still have much to learn but it's coming along great.

I would need to find the team pole for my cart, first. I have a Jerald Runabout but can't find any info on getting a team set up from them. I'm contemplating setting up my Runabout as my team cart and then getting a HyperBike or another EE type cart for times when either my hubby or friend want to drive with me. Any ideas on setting up my current cart for a team?

I assume I'll need to get a special team harness setup OR can I just get a harness for the new horse and then make adjustments when I want to drive as a team?

Any/all suggestions and help will be appreciated. You guys and gals are great. Thanks!

Id suggest learning to drive a team first so you can see the training and equipment involved first.

A four wheeled vehicle is a whole heck of a lot better for team driving, and you most likely would need a new set of harness for each. They do make some draft style harness which is convertible to single cart, but you usually need to start with team harness and configure it for single, not the other way around.

The equipment is expensive... That's why you mostly see singles being driven!

I agree find someone first that does the team driving. It's a lot of fun but it's also a whole different ball game compared to driving single. Not just how you drive them, but mostly the equipment that's involved.

Knottymare said: