Teaching a miniature to drive?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RebelZ

Reaction score
Hi all, so I currently have an 8 year old mini and would love to teach him to drive, however I have never driven a horse before and I’m not sure if breaking him to cart is a good idea when I don’t know what I’m doing. I have a lot of experience with horses in general, but not with driving and unfortunately I have no one who can help. Should I go for it and break him to cart or just leave it? thoughts?

Start off with ground driving and see how he works with that. You can buy a training surcingle fairly cheaply to get started. The bridle is the most critical, imo. You can start with just an open one, no blinders. I like to use a french link bit. You should go for it!

There are several great books on driving and youtube was a big help to me. Ground driving is where you start like Marsha said. The horse learning to move out in front of you is key. This is where lunging comes in and a surcingle as also stated above. Warning though... once you start driving you become addicted. And then you buy more carts and wagons... and harnesses.... and bells.... and boots.... and plumes.... Welcome to the club! Lots of helpful people here!