so glad I found you!

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I am new to this. But she is the best vet around with 20 yrs experience. She said she found it all (ovaries etc and there is no baby) I am surprised. I went in to find out when Misty was due more or less..never thought she would not be in foal.

Anyone know of a rescue baby? rescue mare in foal? the folks I got her from feel terrible. They bought her as bred also. I am not upset withthem. They seem to be a nice family and genuinely feel badly/. They are going to a sale in march and looking for a reg stud. They said they would breed Misty for free. Guess it will depend on if they find one and what they bring home...Not sure I am willing to wait. I have my foaling kit all ready, been watching all the videos, found fescue free hay, started her on mare and foal feed, finsihed the foals warm up blanket, got the straw, been checking her everyday...and now no foal. I was so excited, and so were my grand kids. I do not think i am going to wait.

Do you wanna throw a little more money at the mare vet said was open, you can always try a Wee Foal 120, just in case vet missed it? Something to think about.

chanda

..I am not against spending the money for the wee foal..I just don't think the vet could be mistaken. How often does a good vet miss a foal with a good palpation? I specifically sheduled with her because I know she is the best around. I know errors can be made.even with a good vet .but does anyone know what the chances of not feeling a foal during the latter trimester?

Supposedly the stud was removed in the beginning of summer. But we really dont know for sure. Which means the least she could be(tentatively) would be around 7 months.