Snake bite

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mizbeth

Reaction score
When I went to feed tonight I notice swelling on both sides of this fillies jaw. Just above her muzzle, further inspection showed two bite marks on her lower lip/chin and hard swelling there.

I have not been able to get my vet to return a call as yet. I have given her 3 CC of dex but sure what else to do? She is hungry so am feeding her very sloppy feed. She is eating it. It has been about two hours now and I see no real improvement, but see no further harm/swelling or breathing problems as yet either.

I think I should be giving her PCN also, should I give her banamine as well?

Gee this is my first snake bite and not sure what to do? I will call one other vet ASAP, I have been watching her to see how she is doing. She seems to be breathing okay.

B

When I was a small animal Vet Tech, we always gave Benedryl along with Dex for snake bites. Not sure what the dose would be on a horse though....maybe somebody on here will know? I would probably give Pen too and then just make sure you tell the Vet all that you did and what time when you do talk to them.

Last edited by a moderator:
I had one get bit by a rattle snake. It was years ago, and I cannot remember exactly what the vet did, but she did end up on penicillin. Just make sure her nose does not swell up so much that she cannot breath, I remember that being a major concern. Good luck, hope you are able to get ahold of your vet.

I am not a vet, but I would give Banamine. Can you call a Zoo? Or University Of Pa. New Bolten Center in Kennet Square ,Pa.?

Robin

Hi

Thank you all so much! The vet called and said to give her 2 more CC of DEX., and some banamine. PCN is AM. She is no better as yet but not worse yet either. It must have just happend when I went out to feed and found her.