small mini shelter

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fanch

Reaction score
Hi, I know this topic has been covered from many angles, and I started by searching around on the forum, but didnt find what I was looking for.

See, Im a university student and Ive found a home for myself that included free horse board for my one mini! However, the pasture he gets has no shelter and no trees; I know horses are build to deal with the weather, but to have no shelter at all seems a little much. He does come into a stall in the barn every night so he can get away from the elements during the night (and my land lady feels safer that way.)

What Im looking into is building a small, non-permanent, 3-sided shelter (im thinking 6 feet by 6 feet; just enough for him to stand in during bad weather) However, thats where my knowledge ends. I need something fairly cheap because of my budget ($200) that also will stand up to the weather; I dont really want to find it flipped over in the morning :p

Has anyone done something like this before? Can you tell me about it? Pictures? Any help or advice would be so appreciated at this point; Im starting to rip hair out!

A couple fence posts (4). Bend a cattle panel in a u shape between the posts. Then cover the panel and one end with a tarp.

how do these stand up to snow?? I live in a fairly cold part of bc, canada so I need something that wont collapse from the snow.

Calf huts are nice especially when you find them used. They hold up nicely and you can move them around depending on the wind direction. They don't blow over. Love them

Last edited by a moderator:
There used in MN. Like anything you have to keep snow off top but that shouldn't be to hard