Showing Modern Pleasure

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Acheron

Reaction score
Ok, since I've heard recently that if I were to show my 3yo male, it would have to be as a modern because she is B papered. Bear with me, I'm new to Shetlands...

She does NOT have the action of a Modern, so I think it would have to be Modern Pleasure. Sounds better for me anyways.

So, can you tell me:

The braids are attached how? And where do I get some, or what do I make them out of? Can any colors be used?

What bridle/halter is used?

Does a Modern Pleasure Pony need to be shod to be competitive? CAN they be barefoot? I've read that it's common to paint the stripes into the hooves when they're not solid colored...are they sanded like an Arabs first?

I've also noticed a few pictures (would LOVE to see more, though, hint hint) that the bridlepath on many MP ponies is trimmed way back, like an Arab. Is that the norm? Of course I'm sure length depends on neck structure and all that....

Also, HOW do you all get your pony's manes to lay so flat and smooth? Chrome's has such a rise the man goes UP first then falls over her crest- is it just gelled to stay in place, like an Arab again?

Are treats/crinkly cellophane allowed in the ring with you to bait the neck?

Ok, I think that is it for now! But I'm sure more will come up...

Thanks a bunch, I'm learning so much from this forum!

Treats/ crinkly cellophane would be allowed in halter. Im pretty sure you use the same halter as for minis which you can buy on minitack.com.For the mane,you can use a mane tamer to help train it to lay flat,and use gel.Thats the only ones I can answer,but Im sure someone who knows more about Shetlands will answer the rest.
default_smile.png
Good Luck!

Last edited by a moderator: