Showing help please

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

romewhip

Reaction score
Disclaimer- I'm a total newbie to Shetland and Pinto shows, know nothing! I have a million probably dumb questions, so please educate me. I come from big horses/eventing/dressage and was a show groom for a 3-day barn.

If I want to show in harness pleasure classes at a Shetland show or Pinto show does my pony need the really high knee action? I ultimately want to do CDE with him, and have begun his training as I would a dressage horse. He has wonderful movement from a dressage standpoint- very elastic and not a lot of action.

I'm not a fan of the current fashion in halter classes of lots of makeup and shaved faces. Will I be totally foolish to take in a clipped and clean but not shaved and face greased pony?

What, if any, are my other options for a cart besides the standard kind I've seen in the ring? With limited resources I'm trying to figure out if there is a cart that will work for both showing and CDE.

Please do excuse my ignorance, I hadn't thought I'd end up with a nicely bred and pretty Shetland when I started looking for a driving pony. Jake sort of fell in my lap, and in the few days I've been working with him it's been amazing to see what an untouched colt can do.

Welcome to the world of Shetlands!

I can't speak to Pinto driving. Perhaps someone here who shows Shetlands within PtHA can help you. I will, however, give you some basic info related to Shetland registry questions. In order to best do that, it would help to confirm what kind of Shetland you have. Your profile info lists Classic. Is that correct?

Classic Shetland show driving includes:

Open Pleasure

Country Pleasure

Roadster