Show Harness - What should I get?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bunni1900

Reaction score
Hello! I am new to the driving world and have a mare that I have been training to drive. She is doing great (had a great start with a friend of mine) and am looking into getting a show/work harness. The harness I have works fine but isn't very good quality nor was it made for such a small horse. (she is 31.5" and refined) What should I get to fit her properly that is show quality but workable? What do you use, where did you get it, brand, material, and how do you like it?

Here she is in my current harness

IMG_0104.JPG

google Ozark Mtn Tack. They have several harness at different prices. It's going to depend on what you want to use it for. Is it showing in Carriage shows or Breed shows ( one needs britching while the other doesn't) or just driving trails?

Ozark MT is good and so is Star Lake Tack. Either of those places should help make sure the harness fits, which may require swapping parts. For example, you may need a A size for most things, but maybe a longer girth (which we needed). I would also suggest that you get breeching which can be removed for breed shows but used for everything else. All our harnesses are leather but that is personal preference. We have 3 of the lowest price ones at Star Lake that were about $250 each with breeching, plus we have an extra bridle or two. Then we have a CDE-type harness from Chimacum Tack that was more $$ and a very nice Bode Miller CDE-type show harness that cost even more. Both of these are for CDEs or American Driving Society Pleasure Driving Shows.