Show/Clipping Questions

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello! This is my first time showing my mini, we are just starting out with 4h shows and then will work our way up with more experience. We are entering a halter class, a jump class, a showmanship, and trail. I've got a cable halter, but I was wondering if I could use it for every class, or if I need a regular halter for some (jumping, trail?) I would prefer to use the cable halter for everything, but I am not sure if there are certain rules. I see videos of both being used.

Another question is, about how long on average does it take for a minis coat to grow in to the point of being too fuzzy to show? I know every minis coat is different. I clipped my mini a few days ago, and we have about 2 and a half weeks until the show. The average temp during the day is 40 degrees and she is blanketed now. Do you think I will have to clip her again? Do you think if I keep her warm under the blanket, her hair won't grow back so fast?

Another question, my mini is extremely sensitive to her legs being touched. We tried clipping her legs an got about to her knees on all les. Things started getting ugly, so we stopped. Is there another alturnitive to having a clipped look without using clippers? I think it is the buzzing and vibration of the clippers she doesn't like. I am able to use scissors to trim feathers. Anyone ever try using cotton balls in the ears to block some sound? Anything else I can try without making my mare completely hate me?

Thanks, any feedback would be great! Or any tips for first show! Other than the patchy legs, I think we are ready!