Shaft length and cart size..

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

roxy's_mom

Reaction score
Howdy everyone! I've been driving horses for a couple years...this was the first year I got to drive minis but I've driven the drafts for a couple years prior.

I have two carts right now that I'm using. One is a Meadowbrook style and the other is similar to an easy entry. From the pics that have been taken by my dad at shows I've come to the conclusion that the Meadowbrook cart I use to show in is unbalanced for my horse. The wheels are not big enough to balance out the cart. When I pull up to stop in the line up the cart shafts tip up in the air and I have to lean forward to bring them back down.

So I'm looking into getting a new cart to fit two different horses for next year. One was broke to drive this year and the other will be driving next year. The horses are between 34-35" tall. I might take the Meadowbrook cart back to the the carriage shop that it came from (it's a shop about 2.5 hrs from me) and see if I can trade it for a bigger cart.

Here's my question: How do you properly measure for shaft length? I know you go from the point of the shoulder to the point of the butt but how much do you add on to that measurement to get the correct shaft length? The one horse that's going to be broke for next year has a longer stride than the one that was broke this year. I want to make sure that I get a cart that will fit both for show and pleasure.

Give me your thoughts on what I should do.

Here are some pics from a couple shows this year, sorry if they're a little blurry. Cropping the pics to show more made them a little blurry. Please critique the pics. I'm all for the help.

100_0592.jpg

100_0577.jpg

100_0578.jpg

100_0585.jpg

Thanks!

Becky M.

Im no expert, still learning all this myself... But can you lower the shaft loops?