Scratches

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jleonard

Reaction score
A few weeks ago my filly got some very minor scrapes on her lower legs. I cleaned them up and forgot about it until a few days ago when I noticed that she developed scratches on one hind pastern. So far she does not have any swelling from it, and is not lame, I've been able to continue working her as usual.

I have been scraping the scabs off, washing the area, and drying it before applying TriCare ointment (I've never used TriCare before, but know people who swear by it and had several free samples). I also clipped the area with a 40 blade today thinking it would keep it dryer and make treating it easier. This is my first time dealing with scratches and it is very frustrating! I feel bad for my poor filly when I have to clean off the scabs, she hates it but tries so hard to be good about it!

Have any of you dealt with scratches before, and if so, what treatments worked best for you? I also thought of Listerine today, we've used it in the past to clear up skin issues but don't know how it would work in this case...

Last year was the first time I had ever had a horse get scratches. I had two of them. I used tri care which I thought was pretty good ,then I used desitin diaper ointment. I really think the desitin was better because It stayed on longer and seemed to keep the flies off.

desitin mixed with furacin or something like that... mix 50:50. (I assume you can still get furacin, hope I am not dating myself here)..

Desitin has low melting point and will keep from melting off. The vet used to mix it up and sell it for a mint.