Reasons for Rule Change

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

eastminis

Reaction score
Rule Change - Measuring at the Base of the Withers

To Answer some questions and give you my opinion as to why I proposed this rule change.

My name is Toni Reece - AMHA Director - Region 3, I have been a member for 21 years and have been on the AMHA Board of Directors for half of that time - I own around 200 horses, I Breed, Raise and Show Horses and have a Training Center. So I do feel qualified, and spent a lot of time on this. I support many Miniature Horse Functions, Sales, Shows, Youth, Amateur, etc. I think this is very important that we support each other. So I do understand about horses, and I do this for a living and want what is Best for the Miniature Horse be it AMHA or AMHR. I am a member of both Associations and most my horses are double registered.

To Change a rule it must be submitted before the close of the National Meeting. It takes two years to make a rule change and must go through the proper channels. It was published in Miniature Horse World, and on the web site. I had no one in my region address anything negative about this rule change to me. ( As a matter of fact this rule change was published the year before, but couldn't be voted on because it was not written properly).This rule went to Show Rules and was passed, then it was brought to the Floor. It was discussed in great detail, it was passed by the membership, with a few disagreeing votes. So the majority rules. If you want to change this Rule you must follow the same steps.