Random Questions

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rubyviewminis

Reaction score
It's one of those late nights so I hope I make sense. I have 13 foaling and mare/ foal folders with threads and articles, that probably have the answers, or a search on the forums. But would like a place to address them all and it may help someone else.

1) What due date do most of you use for an average in order to say, my mare is due _____? 330, 340?

2) There are 3 veterinarians here I have been to, 2 that I trust completely. All are fairly experienced with minis now, lol because I have bought them all new trucks, I swear. I have asked all of them at least once about giving tetanus, or selenium injections at birth. I have lots of experience with injections but with arthritis and the thick skin of my little ones, I just have the vet give them spring vaccines now. Anyway, they have all told me no not to, it isn't necessary, and our area is deficient in selenium. So, who gives these shots, and why? My feed is a fortified balancer, so there is no lack of it for them.

3) This question really worries me. Since Missymama will be foaling in cold weather late March or maybe April, I wonder what I can do with our stall. It is one half of a former run in shelter, we made two stalls out of it because of our last surprise baby. So since it is outside the gate is solid on the lower half (of course) and completely enclosed otherwise. Should I attach a tarp or something else over the top opening for foaling and foal? I already deep bed, and will have enough foal blankets, is it necessary? I know it will snow or rain during that time.

I know I'll think of more tomorrow, thank you for any answers.