R-E-S-P-E-C-T

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zyndyna

Reaction score
I am trying to train my filly for halter class and we have several problems going on.. Of course we are struggling with standing. But I found a great older article on here about training for halter. One thing I didn't find was how to get her to respect my space. I admit she has been my baby and she is an in your pocket type horse so she likes to be touching me all the time it seems. I try stepping away when leading and she moves right back to me. We have been doing several things lately like some desensitization work and she is doing great with that and she has really learned she can trust me but we still struggle with this and position when leading. Like I said she is either on my leg or she wants to lag behind or go ahead. I am just starting out so any help is appreciated.

Last edited by a moderator:
I may not be much help here because I do not show halter horses, but I do lead my horses and will not tolerate them walking on me. So that said here is what comes to mind for me -