Quick question about cart metal color in greater detail

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SappyAppy

Reaction score
I'm in the process of getting my cart ready to paint. I've found that the paint on the metal throughout the cart is in nice shape and so plan to not repaint that, just the wood.

Shaft tips are brass. Rein rail is brass. All the other metal work is painted black, like the brackets for the dash board etc. My harness is being made with brass as I thought that was appropriate with the brass trimmings on the cart. Now something I read made me wonder if ALL the other metal on the cart should be brass as well? It's a meadowbrook, there are all kinds of brackets and metal bits that are covered with a really nicely done black finish.

Or am I starting to overthink this?

Altho I am not an expert on turn out by any means, I would say that the parts that are painted black should be left alone, assuming I am picturing it correctly and you are referring to the 'underpinnings' of the cart. Unless they contrast with the rest of the cart and stand out so they are what you see when you look at it I can't see it being a problem. Perhaps you could post a picture of your cart, then everyone would have a clear picture of what you are talking about and give you a more informed answer.

Thank you, yes I do mean brackets etc, some of them are rather visible though, such as the ones holding on the dash etc. Here are pics before I started tearing it down and now that it looks a total mess.

cartprerefinish.jpg

cartshaftbending.jpg

Your cart should look great once you have it refinished
default_smile.png