preggo mare shots

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sue S

Reaction score
I have a preg. mare that is suppose to have baby toward end of month, I did not give her her shots yet, time getting away from me, can I give her her shots now and if so which ones can I give her.

I'm pretty new to this having only had 2 foals so far, but with some pregnant mares now. If she were mine, yes, I would vaccinate NOW (today if possible). I gave my pregnant girls a 5-way last weekend. I would personally not give rabies or WNV until after foaling (but again -- I'm still learning). Others will probably have some good advice!

Give vaccine (5-way) one month before foaling... so the mare can pass the antibodies to the foal. If done too late, the foal won't have the immunities when born. I would do it ASAP.

Andrea

who all does the rhino/flu 30 days before foaling?We gave her mares last year 5-in one, west nile and rhino flu.The west nile and rhino/flu always makes me uneasy for some reason. I just started giving the rhino/flu 30 days before foaling last year per our vet. We also give the 5mos, 7 mos and 9 mos pneabort shots.

good luck

I agree......do your 5-way NOW or ASAP. And then give the other shots after foaling.

PS: Just thought I'd add some info........ One of our vets once told us that it takes a vaccine at least 2 weeks to work through a horse's system. So, to have the unborn foal benefit from the shot, I would suspect it would take a little longer.

Last edited by a moderator:
who all does the rhino/flu 30 days before foaling?We gave her mares last year 5-in one, west nile and rhino flu.The west nile and rhino/flu always makes me uneasy for some reason. I just started giving the rhino/flu 30 days before foaling last year per our vet. We also give the 5mos, 7 mos and 9 mos pneabort shots.

good luck
Melissa --