Pictures of my mare...is the pregnant?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

freegreenbird

Reaction score
Title should say: Is SHE pregnant. :/

Hi! I'm new to the miniature horse world. I have owned three miniature horses for about a year now. They are a lot of fun! I grew up with Quarter Horses but because of me being pregnant so often (not being able to ride) and having small children around we decided to sell our big horses and try minis! We have two mares and one stallion. The mare that I have questions about is 13. When I bought her she was very overweight and even looked pregnant but I knew she wasn't because she hadn't been in with a stallion. As soon as we got her home (summer of 2012) she went into heat and our stallion bred her. But...the due date rolled around and she never foaled. She has been in with a stallion ever since I got her. I honestly have not been checking her close and watching for her heat cycles. On October 31, 2012 I did see our stallion breeding her. I checked her and she was in heat. So am I correct in thinking she would be due late September this year? Anyhow...I am posting some pictures from photbucket to let you look at her and hopefully tell me what you think. Do you think she is pregnant? One of the main questions I want answered. ..can an older broodmare have an udder that looks like my mares all the time? Can the udder look saggy after so many foals?

Also, the pictures are taken in our barn (needs a good cleaning)...our horses don't live in there. They are out to pasture (20 acres) most of the time and can come and go as they please.

These links are long....sorry...I hope they work! They are a side view, under tail view, udder views, and above view.

Full side view:

Underside udder view:

Under Tail:

Back udder view:

Top View:

Extra side view:

Last edited by a moderator: