Picking out a Mini.

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

palindromebaby

Reaction score
Hi everyone! My husband and I are interested in adding a mini to the family. We already own a full size horse and she is my pride and joy. I have plenty of experience with horses 10+ years and while I have taken care of more than a few minis I have never shopped for one. What we are looking for: driving or driving potential, in hand showing for the fun of it, and if my nephew could ride/lead line the little one I would be tickled! As far driving we would like something big enough to pull a cart with both of us. In hand I would like to be able to do okay but winning isn't the goal. The goal is to have another equine that my husband can play with and show while I am showing my big girl. We would be doing open shows locally so I wouldn't think it would have to be registered?

If you were looking for a mini to do what we are looking for what conformation flaws would you steer clear of? What height would be minimum? Any other advise for what to look for in a mini that wouldn't be the same as big horse shopping?

Thanks!

Well, aren't we all looking for the perfect miniature horse?!

33-34" would be minimum for driving. Smaller ones can drive, but IMO a little larger is better. Look for large eyes that are forward-looking--this is beneficial because of blinders. Large nostrils. A little cow-hocked is okay for driving but beware of a low tail set.

Keep us posted, and good luck!