Parelli people?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

poniesrule

Reaction score
Not looking to start a heated debate, everyone does their own thing & has wonderful results
default_yes.gif
I know the games, I use the games, but I also have added my own twist because it works for me. I am not stictly by the book, & this is my first time "playing" with a horse shorter than me! I figured this would be a good place for advice from those who've been doing it a while.

I am looking for people who use some or all of the 7 games, or the techniques involved with PNH. And for those who know the games, have tried & tossed it as well. What games are the hardest for you? How do you adapt? Which of the games benefits you the most since you are not riding? Do you use any while in harness?

The best thing I did was start using my daughter's carrot stick, it is easier to handle with the minis. For me, the porcupine game is difficult because I am at such an odd angle. I have tried on my knees, but when just starting out, the little devils rush up to me for treats. The yo-yo game is excellent with helping me establish MY space & their space, and is also helping me with a solid whoa/stand. I feel that the driving game will help with collection & getting them to engage their hindquarters in the future. There's nothing I love watching more than a collected, well-balanced mini driving! The circling & driving games in my opinion are a way to make lunging more productive. We circle over poles, between the dog & barn, etc. We also do the same with driving but add in & out of the barn, around the feeder, on to the co-op semi truck scale, even into the trailer.

We have a long ways to go, but with the weather we have (windy and below 0), it's nice to have the games to keep us stimulated & optimistic.