Our new pregnent mini

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jackson05

Reaction score
We got our first mini 🌸 about 4 weeks ago. She is in foal and we where told she should foal before Christmas.
This pore mumma is atleast 21 years old we where told. She sadly came from a not very nice situation i suspect she has just been used to pump out as many babys as she can
she is so over it the pore mumma and This hot Australian summer isn't being kind either.
Hopefully we don't have to long to go.Screenshot_20221211-144754_Gallery.jpgScreenshot_20221211-144905_Gallery.jpg

Congratulations on your new addition! Are you familiar with foaling out minis? Any specific questions for that process?

I am a registered nurse and I've got experience with many goat kiddings but foaling is new to me. I'm worried about her age and how she will go. This forum has helped so much. She has started to bag upp but still quite small and isn't making much progress yet.

No doubt she's in good hands. Congratulations on your new family member. If you can handle kidding, I'm sure foaling will be similar and go smoothly for you. Chances are she's got this herself. I'm assuming you're not going to be breeding her again in the future. 21 isn't a bad age for a pregnancy - especially if she's been bred consistently. I don't personally like back-to-back breeding more than just 2 years in a row without a rest. But I don't run a big breeding program. You're already watching for all the right signs; the milk will change colour to quite white and the pH will drop 12 - 24 hours before she delivers. Please keep us posted. Best wishes to you new mama. What is her name?