Oops! Now I've Done It!

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bunnylady

Reaction score
Blondie is my 11-month-old mini filly. Since she's so puppy-dog friendly, I thought it might be fun to teach her a few tricks. You know, make her earn all those carrots she's been helping me dispose of! Well, I started by just holding the carrot slice in my closed hand, making her wait for it (don't want anybody getting nipped by mistake!) One time, she nodded her head, and I said "Good girl!" and gave her the carrot. Doesn't take 'em long to catch on, does it? Now, when she sees me, or especially if she hears the carrot bag rattle, she starts nodding like a demented bobble-head! How do I teach her to do this, only on cue?
default_wacko.png

I'm no expert trainer and I am sure someone will come on here and give you more info. But I would say do not give her the treats if she initiates it and when she stops ask for it and then treat her. So she gets the message that she only gets the treat if you ask for the behavior first.

But I would love to see a video of the "demented bobblehead"
default_laugh.png
default_new_rofl.gif

Giggle giggle, that's cute.

I would also only offer treats when you have asked her to do it. She will soon catch on. Just ignore her 'tricks' at other times.

I would also love to see a video of this!

You need to put it on cue, and never, EVER, not even once, no matter HOW GOOD IT IS, treat her off-cue. I would also ask for a different behavior if she starts doing it. For example, backing up. Or head lowering. Something that she can't nod at the same time...training an incompatible behavior.

Read the book, "Don't Shoot the Dog," by Karen Pryor.
default_yes.gif