Nursing question

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KayleighsMom

Reaction score
My mare foaled last August. I pulled her filly off in the middle of February. I tried putting them all back together in the pasture together, but as soon as the baby got back with the mom, she started nursing again. I dont want her bringing her down anymore. This is my first baby, so I'm still kinda new to all of this. My questions is, how long will it take for the baby to not want to nurse from her mom?

THere was a thread on this subject just the other day... (or am I confusing forums again? maybe..)

The short answer is they can "unwean" themselves up to a year or two old. Some can never really be put together. Someone in the last thread mentioned a story about the mare that would bag up and run over to her colt, even as a yearling and try to be its mother again.

With a foal like this you need to take them right away out of sight and earshot- another farm would be best but I do realise this is not always possible.

I have to say although I separate and do not return, this behaviour that your mare and foal are exhibiting does not seem to be the norm.

Did you separate the foal with a companion??

I have, this year let my yearlings back into the mares field as I have so much grass and wanted them to get the benefit if the first grass.

Because they have been together all winter the yearlings hung together and id not even greet their mothers.

One of the foals has actually been with the mares all winter- she was an easily foal and very big so I weaned her then put her back in October.

She overwintered in the same field as her Dam with no interaction at all.