Newbie Needs Advice From Oregon

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SignofWater

Reaction score
Hello Everyone!

My name is Cheryl and I'm from Oregon. I am very new to miniatures. I have two horses that are older in there middle teens, Appy and a Quarter Horse.

I been wanting a mini or small pony to train for carting for a long time. My husband surprise me yesterday with a Miniature Appy Colt. He's a yearling. I have never had a horse this young before. He is halter broke, walks okay on lead can be pushy at times. He also is a biter. They must of hand fed him a lot or something. I never own a horse that bites. I need advise on this... the best way to correct this problem. I am getting him gelded. I'm not ready for a stallion.

I also need some information on feeding him. Does he need any type a grain or supplements for a growing colt. He's 15 mos. old. Like I said before never own a horse this young before , they been always older.

I'm thinking getting him registered on a hardship ( AMHR ) right now ( if I measure him right ) he stands 33" .

Here's a picture of him. He looks pretty bad in the picture. He been running his little legs off and was sweated up, plus to me seems he might be a little wormy. He's still has some of his winter coat. He name him " LaKota "Lakota.jpg

Welcome.

You've come to the right place, you'll find pretty much everything you need to minis, right here on the forum. In general, minis are just like full-size horses; you should treat them the same and expect the same manners from them; only a few differences, they eat less, be very careful if you must use Bute and don't use Quest (moxidectin) dewormer.