new to the forum

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello everyone! My name is kathy and this is my first attempt at a forum. I have bought 2 minis they are lilly and red baby girl. They are not reg. But so sweet. I live in michigan, i lived in oregon (in the SE area) for the last 20 yrs. When i came to michigan (family reasons) i thought mini horses why not, been around ranch horses last 20 yrs. Little did i know the minis i bought were not in the best of health. They are 36 and 37 in. 6 and 7 yrs.old. they are now healthy and will follow me anywhere. Having horses in oregon and michigan are way different. The first time i took them to the vet. my vet. freaked out when she seen them in the back of my pick up. A ranger with racks on. I told her that i'vealways moved goats, sheep, pigs and calves that way. Boy was she suprised when i backed up to a hill and unloaded. Anyway thats alittle about me. But i do have a question, my red baby girl has a real heavy mane and it is pulling her neck mussel over. I really would like her to have a mane. But if i have to shave it to keep her healthy then thats what i will do. Thank you all in advance. And forgive all the spelling errors. Lol

Welcome to the mini world!!! Have fun with them! On the heavy mane, you can thin it out or shave off some of the mane. Did you ask the vet about it? Just thinking sometimes when they have a heavy crest there are weight issues or maybe thyroid etc, Enjoy them!!!

Julie

Victory Pass Stable

Maine