New Job / Taking Clients?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Boss Mare

Reaction score
I am a professional dog groomer that has had the same place of employment for seven years. Obviously, over the years I have developed a relationship with my customers, their pets and have a large list of clientele that only wants me to groom their companion. April 7th is my last day at my current place of employment, however I will be starting a new grooming job. What's the proper or legal way to notify my customers of this change?

Michelle, I'm not sure how you should or can let current clients know but wanted to say you should review your employment contract to see if there are any guidelines or restrictions. I wish you much success! Ii know how, such you love animals and bet your four legged clients are lucky to be groomed by you!

I'm a retired pet groomer, I must advise you that the client list belongs to the salon owner. I understand your situation, but the client list is money for the owner, and all you can do is basically nothing. To tell the clients of your move and to advise them of your new location is in fact like stealing. Use extreme caution, I had one of my groomers go down this road and she ended up in big trouble.

Good luck in the new job.I am a firm believer that word of mouth is the best advertising.I'm sure 1 of your existing clients will find you and tell others so you won't be long in having many of them find you.I know hairdressers who move often have the new place of employment place an ad welcoming them to the salon.Is this legal for dog groomers?

As a hairstylist I know where you are coming from.