New Driver

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cowgurl_up

Reaction score
Hello All!

I am an avid forum reader. A less avid forum poster. I have been really enjoying reading everyone's posts about their driving horses and it has helped to answer some of my various questions. I'm a new driver, never done the cart thing but have done a lot of work with ground driving with big and little horses. I have also broke many horses to ride and enjoy taking my time and never rushing anything. Trust means a lot to me so we take our time.

I have had my stallion since he was a yearling (he is 7 this year) and he and I have always worked well together until this year (mainly the last month or so). He has been ground driven for about 4 years. Before I had the gear he was ground driven in just a halter and a surcingle with two long lines as our reins. He loved going and picked it all up very well!! Then I got my first harness (used, everything worked great but the bridle didn't fit right). So we upgraded to wearing full harness and added an open bridle with a bit. Again, he loved to go and really seemed to enjoy his job! Now I have the full set up and it seems blinders are causing us a bit of a problem, or at least this is my best guess?