Milky Urine in prego mare

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ricgail

Reaction score
Hi all,

Can anyone help me please. My mare is pregnant and I beleive due sometime this month. Not intentional for sure.. But my queation is has anyone experienced milky urine? There is not odor, but she is urinating when I feed her in the morning and it isnt clear but very milky and light yellow? Should I be calling my vet?

Thanks all!

Sounds like she needs more fluids. You can soak her hay, add warm water to her grain until it is a mash and incorperate soaked hay cubes. Not a big deal but it is always wise to keep one step ahead of any hydration issues.

I have no experience with pregnant mares, so I don't know if this is helpful to your situation, but horse urine is often milky in perfectly healthy, normal horses. Do you know if her urine has changed significantly? (Was it more clear before, but suddenly seems milky now?) If so, you probably should check with a vet or knowledgeable breeder. Otherwise, it probably isn't something to worry about if she is otherwise healthy.

Is she getting supplemental feed or vitamins for her pregnancy? Sometimes mare will have large concentrations of calcium in their urine and it will appear milky or you may see white "chunks" on their hocks or in the middle of the urine spot on the ground.

Hi All,