Mare Behavior- Long

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

StacyRz

Reaction score
default_saludando.gif
Hi All!

I am new to minis, and haven't been around horses in many, many years, so I'm having to re-learn a lot and I'm hoping to get some advice. I've learned an awful lot from this forum just by reading and have to say mini -folks are the BEST!

So here's the situation... I purchased a colt, who is about a year and a half old (soon to be gelded) and as a companion I got him a beautiful silver bay mare, 18 years old.

I fully expected her to assert herself with him, but now I'm wondering if this is going beyond that and into bullying and if so what I can do to fix this.

I give them hay and grain twice a day and at feeding time, she (Fancy) scarfs down her grain and chases Finale away. He eats slow. Painfully slow LOL... Anyway, I ended up after the first few times, going in and shooing her away so he can eat. Now I just sit outside their pen and say AHHHHT loudly to her when I see her headed over to him and she stops and just mad dogs him but doesn't chase him away. We are moving to our new home in another week or two so I will be able to separate them for feeding to solve that little issue...

The main concern now though, is that out of the blue (seemingly) she picks on him! The other day he had her back to him, snuffling around (not even near the hay) and she actually crouched down (like a hunting lioness!) and lunged at him to bite him in the hocks
default_new_shocked.gif
She didn't actually make contact, but it scared him, since it came out of nowhere. She seems to give him dirty looks and ear pinning all day long and it is making him jumpy. If I go in there with them I have to warn her (I say "Don't!" firmly) not to chase him away from me... She is also an attention hog lol...