Lymes

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

strikersmom

Reaction score
Hi all,

Has anyone here dealt with or known someone who had a horse with Lymes? My little guy may have it, we won't know until Tuesday because of the holiday. I've done searches and it seems similar to what I'm dealing with. I noticed a couple weeks ago he was "off" but then its been so darn hot that no one is moving much.

I'd appreciate any ideas or words of encouragement.

They will be testing for WNV also but they say that comes on quick.

Thanks.

A worried sick Chris

I have never dealt with it, so have nothing to offer, but just want to offer best wishes and wish you luck with him/the results.

I'm sorry but I have no experience either. Hope he'll be fine and your avatar is lovely!

PS I see this is your first post and I'd like to welcome you to the best place in the world.

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi,

My friend currently has Lymes disease. I know that its not quite what you are asking for, but I will see what information I can get for ya from her. She has talked about horses with Lymes disease and some symptoms.

Amanda

Unfortunately, I have LOTS of experience with Lyme Disease!!

2 of my kids and 3 of my dogs have had Lyme's.

What are the symptoms you are seeing?

Is your horse limping, acting run down feverish, arthritic?? My kids and my dogs all had pronounced limping and this was the most obvious sign??

I had a mini I thought had it, she became VERY lethargic and then would not move, she was too stiff & sore to move on her left leg. I was sure it was Lyme's but it turned out to be an infected tick bite in her armpit, but not a lyme carrying tick. My vet said Lyme disease in horses is VERY unusual even in our area where it is very prevalent.