LLC, Bonded, Insured questions regarding.. information request

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shorthorsemom

Reaction score
I would like to know what you folks do to protect yourselves for your own private business...

Say someone wanted to start a dog walking service, or pet sitting service or obedience training service... what do you do?

Are you bonded, insured, do you form a LLC?

If so, how does one start this process... Do you use a lawyer, do you apply by internet?

What would you need liability wise for a small business to protect yourself. I am taking about a very small business with no employees at this time.

I see some folks advertising that they are a service that is bonded and insured and is a LLC but there is so much information out there it gets a bit confusing.

I have been training and walking dogs for many years for free. I have never taken money for my services because of liability reasons. Just curious as other folks such as groomers, dog walkers, pet sitters, trainers do to set up a small business.

I know this differs from state to state. I am in Pa

I don't even know how to ask the questions properly, so fill in the blanks and help me get some information please? cheers.

I had another call today of someone asking me for grooming and training assistance on a new dog. this got me thinking about liability and protection.