Quantcast

I HAVE A PROBLEM

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

bob r

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2002
Messages
134
Reaction score
0
I HAVE A SONY MAVICA 73 DIGITAL CAMERA WHICH I TAKE PICTURES WITH.

LATELY WHEN I TRY TO SEND A PIC. (AS AN ATTACHMENT) ON MY COMPUTER,

IT COMES UP WITH A 4.11 EXTENTION WHICH I CAN'T OPEN, NOR CAN ANYONE ELSE. I CALLED SONY AND THEY SAID IT MUST BE SOMETHING TO DO WITH MY COMPUTER BUT I CAN'T FIGURE OUT WHY IT DOES THIS.

SOMETIMES THERE WILL BE THE FOLLOWING:

MVC 001S.JPG THEN BELOW IT WILL SHOW MVC 001S.4.11

AND THEN SOMETIMES THERE WILL NOTHING BUT THE MVC 001S.411-- MVC 002S.4.11 ETC. ETC. ETC.

ANYONE HAVE ANY ANSWERS, I'M LOST.
 

Mona

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
11,922
Reaction score
345
Location
Morson, Ontario, Canada
It could be because everytime you take a picture the camera makes 2 files...one is the actual .jpg(photo) file and the other is a matching "hidden" file. Maybe sometimes you are accidentally sending the "hidden" file instead of the actual photo file.

The .jpg file is the photo, and the 4.11 file is the "hidden" file.(which can be deleted.)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

dannigirl

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2004
Messages
1,316
Reaction score
55
Location
Southern Illinois
I agree woth Mona, it could be the hidden files. I also have a sony mavica and whenever I look at the photos, the first thing I do is delete the extra files. They are usually much smaller than the actual photo, so I arrange by size and delete that way so I get them all. (Will usually be 1/2 of the files on the disc.) Good luck

Angie
 

jlh

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2002
Messages
208
Reaction score
0
you don't have to delete the 4.11 files, they are created along with the html file that each disk formats so that you can play or review the pictures while still in the camera. reset your computer to you don't see the hidden files, and copy only the jpg files to your computer or your attachment. sounds like your basic computer is set to show all hidden files, and unless you know how to program your computer, that can become too much information. unless you are using a mac, which will create different user location files.

edited:

if you aren't seeing any jpg files, you may have already deleted your pictures off of the disk
 
Last edited by a moderator:

bob r

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2002
Messages
134
Reaction score
0
THANKS FOR THE INFO, WHEN I'M LOOKING AT THE PICTURES THRU MY CAMERA SCREEN, IT DOESN'T SHOW ANYTHING BUT THE ACTUAL PICTURES SUCH AS MVCX 005S.JPG NONE OF THE 4.11 FILES SHOW UP THERE, IT'S JUST ON MY COMPUTER , SO I WILL GO TO MY COMPUTER AND SEE IF I CAN FIND THE SETTING ON HIDDEN FILES AND SET IT NOT TO SHOW THEM.

THANKS

AGAIN

BOB
 

Latest posts

Top